Quick Login   
 
Register AdminFusion Tutorials
 
Featured Sponsors


One.com Domain and Hosting


Register
Forum of the Month
Australian Webmaster
fotm

A webmaster forum specifically catering for Australian site owners. We discuss site development, marketing and management issues.

Tag Cloud
Latest Threads
Forum Stats
7,900 Members
165,091 Posts
38 Users Online

Please welcome our newest member, Jors308932!

Affiliates
Go Back AdminFusion » Management » Security and Legal Issues » How do I report spammer to his ISPs?
Welcome to the AdminFusion. AdminFusion is the ultimate resource for forum administrators and moderators. With exclusive articles, interviews with the experts, free downloadable skins, and the revolutionary post exchange system - PostFusion, AdminFusion is the place to go for all of your forum needs.  By joining AdminFusion, you will become part of a thriving admin community and immediately gain access to all of these resources. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join us today!
Want more than our forums? Try these: Post Fusion Forum Matrix
Old 02-17-2007, 11:34 PM   #1

british's Avatar

Title: Apprentice

Points: 1,855, Level: 12Points: 1,855, Level: 12Points: 1,855, Level: 12
Level up: 13%, 295 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 295 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 295 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Nov 2006

Posts: 182

british will become famous soon enough
 
 
How do I report spammer to his ISPs?

A registered user came one night and posted pix of gay guys at an orgy, followed by a very long and very graphic list of sexual activities.

I deleted the post of course and banned him, but he still comes around to try to post the same ad again. He's getting a "no permission" message everytime, but that doesn't seem to make him stop.

I threatened to report him to his ISP, but I realized that he uses a different address whenever he logs in. He's probably using a proxy server. Is there anything I can do?
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 11:41 PM   #2

Ashley's Avatar


Title: www.Centicero.com

Points: 6,754, Level: 24Points: 6,754, Level: 24Points: 6,754, Level: 24
Level up: 25%, 296 Points neededLevel up: 25%, 296 Points neededLevel up: 25%, 296 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Jan 2006

Posts: 1,017

Location: Devon, United Kingdom

Ashley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to beholdAshley is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via ICQ to Ashley Send a message via AIM to Ashley Send a message via MSN to Ashley Send a message via Yahoo to Ashley  
 
Persistence is the key here - keep on banning until he gets the message. He'll eventually get the message.

Also try one of them hacks that won't let a post go through if it contains certain words [it looks like it posted to the user but it actually goes into your mod queue]. That way it isn't sat on your forum while you're not online.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 11:49 PM   #3

british's Avatar

Title: Apprentice

Points: 1,855, Level: 12Points: 1,855, Level: 12Points: 1,855, Level: 12
Level up: 13%, 295 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 295 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 295 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Nov 2006

Posts: 182

british will become famous soon enough
 
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashley View Post
Also try one of them hacks that won't let a post go through if it contains certain words [it looks like it posted to the user but it actually goes into your mod queue]. That way it isn't sat on your forum while you're not online.
I was wondering about that hack. What if he first writes a clean post that goes past moderation, and then goes back to it and edit it with porn spam?
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 12:38 AM   #4

henry_vnc's Avatar

Title: Member

Points: 2,128, Level: 12Points: 2,128, Level: 12Points: 2,128, Level: 12
Level up: 13%, 22 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 22 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 22 Points needed
Activity: 4%Activity: 4%Activity: 4%

Join Date: Dec 2006

Posts: 132

henry_vnc will become famous soon enough
 
 
ban his Ips, I dont mind if there is a human being doing this...because you have to work for your sites/forums.

the only thing i care about is they are using bots to post the msgs.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 11:55 PM   #5

Ryan's Avatar

Title: Administrator

Points: 47,649, Level: 67Points: 47,649, Level: 67Points: 47,649, Level: 67
Level up: 68%, 701 Points neededLevel up: 68%, 701 Points neededLevel up: 68%, 701 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Sep 2005

Posts: 10,246

Location: Athens, GA

Ryan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond reputeRyan has a reputation beyond repute
 
 
Keep banning him. He'll give up eventually.

If it becomes too much work on you, then you might need to increase your staff number. If your forums ever get to the point where there is too much spam or too much to take care of and you yourself cannot handle it in a timely manner, then you probably need more staff.

Does this guy have consistent email addresses? If it is the same domain and it is an uncommon domain (not gmail, yahoo, bellsouth, msn, etc.), then you could also just block all registrations from that email/domain.
__________________
...some super-sweet signature
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:12 PM   #6

sketchie's Avatar

Title: Groupie

Points: 1,981, Level: 12Points: 1,981, Level: 12Points: 1,981, Level: 12
Level up: 13%, 169 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 169 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 169 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Oct 2005

Posts: 44

sketchie is on a distinguished road
 
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by british View Post
A registered user came one night and posted pix of gay guys at an orgy, followed by a very long and very graphic list of sexual activities.

I deleted the post of course and banned him, but he still comes around to try to post the same ad again. He's getting a "no permission" message everytime, but that doesn't seem to make him stop.

I threatened to report him to his ISP, but I realized that he uses a different address whenever he logs in. He's probably using a proxy server. Is there anything I can do?
If you're willing to do abit of research, you can find out the proxies he's using, and then contact them about it. Chances are one of the proxies will give you information about his real IP.
__________________
The Late Night Club
When Boredom Strikes Late at Night!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 01:54 AM   #7

british's Avatar

Title: Apprentice

Points: 1,855, Level: 12Points: 1,855, Level: 12Points: 1,855, Level: 12
Level up: 13%, 295 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 295 Points neededLevel up: 13%, 295 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Nov 2006

Posts: 182

british will become famous soon enough
 
 
Thanks. How do I find out about his proxies?

For now I have combined all the e-mail addresses I found on this thread: List of SPAM email addresses? and blocked registrations on all of them.
260 in total! It did the trick.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:41 PM   #8

Title: Apprentice

Points: 1,711, Level: 11Points: 1,711, Level: 11Points: 1,711, Level: 11
Level up: 12%, 139 Points neededLevel up: 12%, 139 Points neededLevel up: 12%, 139 Points needed
Activity: 0%Activity: 0%Activity: 0%

Join Date: Mar 2007

Posts: 222

Location: Kingsport, TN

JonathanSA is a jewel in the roughJonathanSA is a jewel in the roughJonathanSA is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to JonathanSA  
 
If you can fish through the proxies, find an legitimate IP, simply fire off an e-mail to abuse@nameofprovider.com.

ISP's keep track of multiple IP usage so if you can find the IP, they can trace it to them. Chances are, he'll just get a slap on the wrist because most ISP's really doing look into theses cases unless threats are involved as there's no true harm done.

Personally, keep banning or contact him nicely and ask him to please stop abusing your services. If that doesn't work, continue to try.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meet Average-Joe Spammer shellspeare Off Topic 4 09-14-2007 09:42 PM
PostFusion Report Forum Ryan PostFusion Announcements 0 01-25-2006 11:19 PM

AdminFusion

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:43 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0 © 2005-2008 AdminFusion - All Rights Reserved



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72